Exercise 1.3 (1) line

Creating depth with lines

I have deliberately chosen to use a longer focal length for all of my shots in this excercise. A 70-200 mm lens was used. This was because I wanted to see if I could pull off creating depth in this way. It would have been much easier for me to use a wider angled lens, but I felt as though I wanted to challenge myself. My plan is to write a resume of all the exercises at the conclusion of my shoots. Here I will reflect on my exercises in full and discuss work of other contemporary photographer and with a detailed reference list.

For this exercise I have used 2 different locations, firstly my home and secondly,  Clumber Park in Nottinghamshire,

20160930-oca-001
This shot does not have any great distance in it from the lens to my main subject of Boris,my faithful dog, yet depth can be envisaged.
20160930-oca-002
This shot came about as I was going in the house after taking the shot above. The fence and the path lead me straight to Boris. This is exagerated by my low angle and shallow depth of field and the contrast between light and dark.
20160930-oca-003
This is in essence a reverse shot from the one above. This time with a higher vantage point, using the bricks, the path and the fence as a guide to the car. Not  a great image due to the positioning of the car, but it does create movement and depth.
20160930-oca-006
The path creates the depth as you move along it to the family. There the lines of the people then lead you upwards to the trees and then to the imposing church in the background. This image for me has a number of layers within it and depth.
20160930-oca-007
This shot was taken as I was sat on the ground photographing a squirrel. The dog came running towards me and was at a diagonal to me. Even though there is no distance in the shot, I believe the diagonal of the path leads you to him, giving a feeling of depth as opposed  to flatness.
20160930-oca-009
Here is an image with which I am conflicted. The fore ground creates some depth, yet the background appears somewhat flat from the edge of the lake upwards. The path leads you in, but where to? My aim was to have the “folly” as the main subject, and yes your eye is drawn there. I’m just not happy with it.
20160930-oca-010
Less obvious lines creating depth. But for me they are there and go from the front goose to the back goose and the lines run diagonally left to right creating depth.
20160930-oca-012
Here there are a series of lines drawing you in and around the image seraching for the main subject, which was the clock tower.
20160930-oca-013
If I had waited a second longer the man in the arch would have been better framed in the arch. The road and the light on the arch do draw you in to the man creating a sense of depth.

 

Leave a Reply

