Exercise 2.1

Well, for this exercise I have decided to go for something different. I have decided to shoot this in our Church. Being a “Greek” Orthodox Christian is somewhat unusual for a Brit, so it gives me a chance to share the beauty and tranquility of our Church. It also adds some seriality to my work as there are a number of exercises that have been shot in there. One of my previous feedback points was to continue shooting things that are of interest to me, hence my choice of this location.

There is also some madness in this method! The lighting is not the best in there as it is predominately dark, with bursts of strong light from the East and South (the iconstasis is situated at the east end of the Church) as the sun rises and moves throughout the day. The windows are relatively small and play havoc with the sensor. This made me ramp up the ISO to get something like a well exposed image. As per the brief Aperture Priority has been used for all images, so that will be excluded from any exif data as that will be taken as a given.

The images were taken with a Nikon D300s in conjunction with a Nikon 70-200 f2.8. This effectively increased the focal length by 50% due to the Dx sensor in the D300s. A tripod was used to assist with the framing and the shutter speed needed with a large focal length. White Balance was set to auto.

The images have not been edited and are displayed as shot.

None of the images really match what is seen by the eye due to the focal length used. On the D300s a 50mm Dx lens or a 35mm f lens (1.5 x 13) would give a similar view to what can be seen by the eye, but the lens used here is much longer. I chose the longer lens due to its’ speed and I was shooting with 2 cameras on this occasion, which meant I did not have to swap lenses frequently. The other camera on the go was my Nikon D750 and was coupled my Tamron 24-70mm f2.8. Images taken in the Church with this camera will figure in later exercises.

To best see the effect of moving through the doors, quickly click on the image in the slide show and it will move you through the series and through the door. I have decided to lay the images out as thumbnails, as this assists when looking at the geometry of using . I think you can see there is no real change in geometric shaping, and with each subsequent image takes you through the Deacon’s Door to the prothesis table. The prothesis is a mini “altar”, where the priest completes a number of duties, which include preparing the communion bread, and saying prayers for the living and dead. Only Orthodox Christian men are allowed behind the doors.

The lights above the prothesis table have created some highlight clipping, which is not desirable but they did assist with the overall lighting and they created the look I was after, which was to highlight and focus on the cross. Flashes should not be used in Church and all stands etc should not be moved without the perimssion of the Priest.

I kept the aperture the same throughout as I wanted consistency of settings and the effect of reducing depth of field would become more apparent at longer focal lengths. I believe this has happened as the edge of the doors do not affect the images apart from acting as a frame within a frame.

I believe this illustrates what happens when you use a long lens and a fixed view-point.

 

 

Leave a Reply

