Exercise 4.4

I have completed this exercise with one studio light, one reflector, a simple black background and I have used the light on different output settings. Looking at my contact sheets (below), leaves me thinking I may crop some of the images, but there will be no other editing. I have chosen black and white rather than colour, almost in homage to Sally Mann, whom has given me a new lease of life in photography, whilst not trying to recreate here own artistry.

Here are my contact sheets for this exercise, unedited, with the exception of the conversion to black and white. As I add these to my blog I have not yet made my final selection and I am unsure as to how many images I will use.

Below are my final 10 images with a small amount of cropping, compared to the contact sheets above. I have numbered them 1 – 10 and will add the lighting sketches below these 10 images. The catchlights do away give this in most of the images though.

 

Photoshop lighting sketches as for the above 10 images.

When looking at the above 10 artificially lit facial images, are the any similarities to the image in Exercises 4.2 and 4.3? I will briefly explore below.

Exercise 4.3 is simply a shoot with ambient light within an art gallery. The lighting there was  very much uniform, aiming to remove shadows to give an even view to the exhibition. You do not get any feeling of depth from the light and in my opinion is flat. Intentional to assist the viewer.  In this current exercise the lighting has created an opposite style of lighting. In my final 10 images above there is a feeling of reality and/or depth which is different to exercise 4.3. The photographs below show this.

Exercise 4.2 was dealing with natural light, rather than the ambient light in the gallery, as in 4.3. In this exercise (4.4) an artificial source was introduced. With exercise 4.2 you have to work with what is there and you cannot move the light source (in this case the sun). With exercise 4.4 the light source could be moved to suit my purpose. Both types of lighting created a shadowing effect and depth, but with the natural light shots the shadows were dependent on the time of day. With this exercise it was up to me where to move the light source to create depth, shadow and feeling. The following 2 images show the differences. I also had the ability to control the harshness of the light in this image and was able to manipulate this to suit my purpose, which was not possible with the natural light shots. Yes I could have used reflectors for the natural light shots but i did not want to do that at that stage. Natural light does hold an element of beauty when compared to artificial light and at certain times of day the lighting is softly poetic.  I love being able to have the ability to manipulate light when I want with studio lights, but there is something  romantic about using  what nature has provided for us.

Leave a Reply

