Exercise 5.1

Well, I have completed 80% of this first part of the degree course and I feel that I want to do something different. Am I finding my voice or just annoying my tutor by using animals   as actors in a number of my images? Only joking about the annoying part, Les is also a lover of animals, but he also knows about my love of  Sally Mann’s work and he was expecting something in that genre/style for my last assignment.

My plan over the next few months, (away from the degree) is to set up my own photography business, concentrating on animals and pets, but for this part of the degree, I want to concentrate on people. I will be taking my time researching lots of different photographers and authors, which talk about photography and empathy, including the (so called ) distance between photographer and the subject.

“For Magnum photographer Olivia Arthur, empathy comes into play between herself and her subject, rather than being something she is necessarily thinking about in terms of a future audience reaction.”

untitled

(Olivia Arthur A saudi woman poses in the kitchen in her abaya. Jeddah. Saudi Arabia. 2009. © Olivia Arthur | Magnum Photos)

The above quote and image was taken from, Magnum Pro (2017) Empathy and Photography, Available at: https://www.magnumphotos.com/theory-and-practice/empathy-photography/?utm_source=fb-social&utm_campaign=Editorial_EmpathyandPhotography&utm_medium=social&utm_content=Linkpost(Accessed: 06/02/2017).

Definition of distance ; –

“separation in time”, taken from, Merriam Webster (2014) Distance | Definition, Available at: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/distance (Accessed: 06/02/2017).

Definition of empathy ; –

“the imaginative projection of a subjective state into an object so that the object appears to be infused with it.”  and “the action of understanding, being aware of, being sensitive to, and vicariously experiencing the feelings, thoughts, and experience of another of either the past or present without having the feelings, thoughts, and experience fully communicated in an objectively explicit manner; also  :  the capacity for this”, both taken from, Merriam Webster (2017) Empathy | Definition, Available at: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/empathy (Accessed: 06/02/2017).

Thoughts from my last assignment and to think about going forward.

my argument against the set-up picture is that it leaves the matter of content to the imagination of the photographer, a faculty that, in my experience, is generally deficient compared to the mad swirling possibilities that our dear common world kicks up at us on a regular basis” taken from ; – photo quotations (2017) photoquotations / Tod papageorgre, Available at: http://photoquotations.com/a/532/Tod+Papageorge (Accessed: 06/02/2017).

To be continued….

Leave a Reply

